It’s That Time Again

School will be starting again soon and I am not ready.  My baby boy is starting Pre-K this year and I am going to miss our morning ritual of  cuddles and cartoons.  While he is being such a big boy about it, I am dreading his first day.

Me: Adonis, mama is going to miss you so much when you go to school.

Adonis: I’m going to miss you too … and Dad.

Me: I don’t want you go.

Adonis: But, mom, I have to go.  I’m a big boy now.

… and yes he is.  He is so ready for school, ready to leave mama watching Spongebob, Umizoomi, and  Scooby Doo all alone … with Dad.   I guess I should be happy that he is handling it so well.  I don’t know if he has thought about the fact that neither I, nor Dad will be there.  That he will have to stay there all day without seeing us, but I guess we’ll cross that bridge when we get to it.

I was hit with a double whammy this year.  Not only is my wittle baby going to Pre-K, but I am now the mother of a thirteen year old.  My oldest son turned 13 last month so, I feel like I’m just losing babies all over the place.  Time passes too fast.  It seems like it was just a while ago that I was holding his hand and looking down at him.  Now he is taller than I am (and I’m 5’7 3/4 so, yep he’s a biggun’), reaching up to get things for me that I can’t reach.  The other day he backed my car out of the carport so that we could clean up outside a bit and the flood gates almost opened.  I’m so proud of all three of my boys, but this growing up thing really sucks!

So, between the tears and the dread of the school year, I found some fun DIY crafts to try this year.  I absolutely love the book cover ideas and can’t wait to go shop for tape to cover the boy’s books.  The pom-pom pen is actually an idea I found for me, not the boys (yes, I want the pom-pom pen).   I also really like the ‘My Best Work” clipboard because I have just about every single drawing, colored picture, or project that my boys have brought home over the years.  What mother could throw it away?  For our school year I would have to adjust the board a bit to support more amazing art work and Pre-K scribbles.

This collage belongs to Down Home Diva(ish). The pictures in the collage belong to Ginger Snap Crafts. The Pom Pom Pen Tutorial pic belongs to The Crafty Blog Stalker and is not the property of Down Home Diva(ish).

 

You can find these amazing DIY’s at Ginger Snap Crafts.  You can find the Pom-Pom Pen and more great ideas at The Crafty Blog Stalker.

 

  1. Pom-Pom Pen 
  2. Duct Tape Book Cover
  3. Washi Tape Clipboard
  4. My Best Work Clipboard

 

I also found this cool book cover made with a paper bag and washi tape.  The robot idea is amazing and my 10 year old is a robot/gadget freak so, I know he will be all over this one!  The possibilities are endless with washi tape.  You can create a car design, your child’s favorite super hero symbol, your child’s name and so much more.

 

This picture belongs to Modern Parents Messy Kids and is not the property of Down Home Diva(ish).

 

 

You can find this fun tutorial at Modern Parents, Messy Kids.

Hope these fab DIY’s sparked inspiration in you!  Here’s to a great school year! :)

(If for any reason you can’t find this post and you are looking for links to the blogs featured today, you can always find featured blogs in the ‘Addictive Blogs’ section under the More tab above.)

 

2 thoughts on “It’s That Time Again

Leave a comment!

